Conflict Resolution Education Connection

Building Healthy Relationships and Strong Communities Through Conflict Education.
Conflict Resolution Education Connection Mobius Strip logo
Home » CR Day » Contest Rules

2015 CR Day Poetry Contest

The 2015 Contest Winners have been selected! Congratulations to our peacebuilding poets!

The 2015 Contest is now closed. Good luck to all the participants!

Get a one-page flyer about the 2015 contest. A printable copy of the 2015 rules is available here. The submission form link is found at the bottom of this page. Please review the rules before proceeding.

CR Day Poetry Contest 2015

2015 Poetry Contest Rules

1. Eligibility. The contest is open to all students in grades 3 – 12.

2. Submission Period. Entries will be accepted between October 1, 2015 and October 31, 2015, closing at 11:59 PM EST (10:59 PM Central; 9:59 PM Mountain; 8:59 PM Pacific; 5:59 PM Hawaii - Find Closing Time in Your City).- Find Closing Time in Your City).

3. To Enter.
Write a poem that reflects on or relates to the theme of Building Peace. Topics addressed can include:

Important Instructions


4. Prizes. First and second place prizes will be awarded in each of the following three categories: Grades 3-5; 6-8; and 9-12. First Place: $100. Second Place: $75. (prizes are in U.S. dollars)

5. Judging. Winners will be selected by a panel of judges named by the Association for Conflict Resolution. The judges will evaluate the entries using the following criteria: exploration of theme, impact on reader, originality, literacy, message. Judges’ decisions are final.

6. Announcement of Winners. Winners will be contacted by December 14, 2015.

7. Sponsor. The Association for Conflict Resolution (ACR) is a professional organization dedicated to enhancing the practice and public understanding of conflict resolution. This contest is being sponsored as an activity for ACR’s Conflict Resolution Day. For information about ACR and Conflict Resolution Day, go to


8. General Conditions.

Poems will not be returned. Entrants should keep a copy of their submissions.

Association for Conflict Resolution assumes no responsibility for entries that are lost, incomplete, misdirected, illegible, or late, or for failed computer transmissions or technical failures.

Association for Conflict Resolution reserves the right, in its discretion, to reject entries that it believes are unlawful, libelous, or would be detrimental to the reputation of Conflict Resolution Day or the Association for Conflict Resolution.

Poems with profanity, obscenity, vulgarity, or anything else which overrides the general norms of civility will not be eligible for prizes.

Entry must comply with all contest rules to be eligible for a prize. The Association for Conflict Resolution reserves the right not to award any prizes.

Selected entries (including those that were not awarded prizes) may be displayed at the ACR National Conference and may be compiled in a poetry book or other form (including electronically) as may be determined by the Association for Conflict Resolution.

Winning students may be given the opportunity to submit a digital recording of their poem, which the Association for Conflict Resolution may then choose to link to its website.

By submitting a poem you agree to be bound by these rules.

Contest Stopped Accepting Entries on October 31, 2015

Submit a Poem - next year